WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Graduating college, Merit scholarship semifinalists from the Five Towns named


Chaim Mazel and Joseph Tepfer, both from Cedarhurst, and Max Borgen and Aaron Manoucheri, both of Lawrence, were four of the more than 2,400 students who received degrees, ranging from associates to doctorates, during Fairleigh Dickinson University’s gradation ceremony at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey on May 21.

Zachary Fuchs, of Cedarhurst, and Adam Schreiber, from Woodmere, were named to the Honors list for the spring semester at Fairleigh Dickinson University’s Metropolitan campus in Teaneck, N.J.

Nine students from five schools were named as semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. From Davis Renov Stahler Yeshiva High school for Boys in Woodmere, Joshua Brafman and Shlomo Fortgang; Hebrew Academy of the Five Towns and Rockaway High School in Cedarhurst, David Lederer and Jennifer Rabinowitz; Hewlett High School Jack Hoffman, Alex Tang and David Vilensky; Rambam Mesivta High School in Lawrence, Uriel Sussman; and from Stella K. Abraham High for Girls in Hewlett Bay Park, Elisheva Glatt.

Roughly 16,000 high school students nationwide are competing for 7,600 scholarships worth more than $31 million in the 65th annual program from a pool of more than $1.5 million students who took the 2018 Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test. Roughly 15,000 will advance to be finalists. They will be notified in February.